Thursday, 18 May 2017

The Forever House by Veronica Henry #BlogTour @Veronica_Henry @orionbooks #TheForeverHouse

Would you know your forever house if you found it?
Hunter's Moon is the ultimate 'forever' house. Nestled by a river in the Peasebrook valley, it has been the Willoughbys' home for over fifty years, and now estate agent Belinda Baxter is determined to find the perfect family to live there. But the sale of the house unlocks decades of family secrets - and brings Belinda face to face with her own troubled past.
A gorgeous escapist read for anyone needing a hug in a book - perfect for fans of Erica James, Lucy Diamond and Harriet Evans.

The Forever House by Veronica Henry is published by Orion Books in paperback on 18 May 2017 and is the author's fifteenth novel.

There are certain authors who never fail to disappoint me, and Veronica Henry is one of those. She's part of my 'go to' group of writers who I know will always deliver a story that will delight me, lift my mood and really warm the heart. The Forever House is an absolute joy to read, I fell head over heels in love with the characters, the setting and of course, with Hunter's Moon; the 'forever house' of the title.

Hunter's Moon is a family home, it is a beautiful house that is filled with love and memories and when local estate agent Belinda Baxter gets the call to ask her to visit and give a valuation, she is very excited. Belinda is far from the stereotypical estate agent; she really cares about her customers; going that extra length to ensure that the process of selling their home is as pain free as possible. Belinda loves property, but will only sell a house that she likes.

It soon becomes clear that there is much sadness behind the reason that the Willoughbys have to sell Hunter's Moon, and Veronica Henry very cleverly incorporates the story of their family's history into this compelling and delightful novel. The reader is transported back to the late 1960s, to a chaotic and unusual household that is crying out for order. When Sally arrives at Hunter's Moon she makes changes that reach much further than the dusty corners of rooms.

I have a real soft spot for stories told in dual time, and the 1960s is my favourite era to read about. I loved the glimpses into the glamour, and the seedy. The smoky Soho clubs; the literary parties; the fashions and the language. All perfectly done and a wonderful contrast to the modern-day story, which is equally as compelling and touches on some modern, up-to-the-minute subjects. Veronica Henry's characters are so skilfully created, they become like friends and the reader is swept up in all of their issues.

The Forever House is an absolute treat. It is engaging and heartfelt, a story of love, of loss, and of starting over, and new beginnings, and is, in my view, Veronica Henry's best novel to date.

Veronica Henry has worked as a scriptwriter for THE ARCHERS, HEARTBEAT and HOLBY CITY amongst many others, before turning to fiction. She won the 2014 RNA NOVEL OF THE YEAR AWARD for A NIGHT ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS. Veronica lives with her family in a village in north Devon. 

Find out more at or follow her on Twitter @veronica_henry

No comments:

Post a Comment