Wednesday 5 July 2017

Listening In by Jenny Eclair @jennyeclair @LittleBrownUK #ListeningIn

In this addictive short story collection, twenty-four very different women reach a pivotal moment in their lives.
A widow is liberated by a new job, but keeps it secret from her family. A date in suburbia has dramatic results. A seamstress takes revenge on an unsuspecting customer, while in France, a mother is promised 'fantastic news' - and lets her imagination run away with her.
With each story, Jenny Eclair introduces a fascinating new character. And behind each woman lies a gripping tale - of betrayal, of love, of hope and defiance.
Funny, heart-breaking, inspiring - and packed with wicked one liners - this wonderful collection shows Jenny Eclair's exceptional talent for observation at its very best.
Based on the BBC Radio 4 series Little Lifetimes.

Listening In by Jenny Eclair was published in hardback by Sphere / Little Brown on 1 June 2017 and is a collection of short stories based on the BBC Radio 4 series Little Lifetimes.

I was quite amazed and a bit frightened when I looked back at my reading records and found that I read Jenny Eclair's first novel, Camberwell Beauty almost fifteen years ago. I remember it so well, I remember the sharp wit and the great plot, I remember reading it on a rainy afternoon in Corfu, sitting in a bar and just soaking up the story.

I've since read this author's other books and was really delighted to find that she had put together a selection of short stories. I was eager to read these and have not been disappointed. I enjoyed every single story, which for me is quite unusual in a short story collection, as I usually find that there's one or two that don't quite work. Not in Listening In. Each and every one is perfectly formed, expertly written and totally enjoyable.

Twenty four stories, with twenty four female lead characters. Very different characters, but recognisable, believable and so entertaining. Jenny Eclair has incredible insight and a sharp wit, her voice is strong within each story and the addition of line drawn illustrations by the author herself is a fabulous touch.

Bittersweet, modern and sharply observed this is a collection of stories that will delight and resonate with most women .... and with some men!  There's a dark anger running through these tales that sits excellently with the touching, funny and flawless writing.

Really enjoyable and highly recommended from me.

Huge thanks to the publisher who sent my copy for review.

Jenny Eclair is the author of four critically acclaimed novels: Camberwell Beauty; Having a Lovely Time; Life, Death and Vanilla Slices and Moving.
One of the Uk's most popular writer/performers, she was the first woman to win the prestigious Perrier Award and has many TV and radio credits to her name.
She lives in South-East London

Find out more at
Follow her on Twitter @jennyeclair

No comments:

Post a Comment