Thursday, 16 August 2018

One Little Lie by Sam Carrington @sam_carrington1 #BlogTour @AvonBooksUK #OneLittleLie @Sabah_K



‘I’m Alice. And my son is a murderer.’

Deborah’s son was killed four years ago.
Alice’s son is in prison for committing that crime.

Deborah would give anything to have her boy back, and Alice would do anything to right her son’s wrongs.

Driven by guilt and the need for redemption, Alice has started a support group for parents with troubled children. But as the network begins to grow, she soon finds out just how easy it is for one little lie to spiral out of control…

They call it mother’s intuition, but can you ever really know your own child?

A twisty and unnerving thriller about the price of motherhood and the unthinkable things we do to protect our children. Perfect for fans of B A Paris and Clare Mackintosh.









One Little Lie by Sam Carrington was published as an ebook on 23 July 2018 by Avon Books, the paperback is released on 6 September. My thanks to the author and the publisher who sent my copy for review and who invited me to take part in this Blog Tour.



One Little Lie is a character-led story, driven by incredibly well crafted and intriguing female characters.

Sam Carrington bravely tells the story in the voices of multiple characters, and whilst, at first, until the reader has become settled into the narrative, and in tune with each voice, it can be a little confusing. Each chapter does have the character name as a heading though, which is an excellent way to keep the reader on track.

This is a twisty, psychologically challenging story. The central crime has been committed and the murderer is in prison serving his sentence. This is the story of the after-math, of the consequences for those left behind, and how one mother deals with the murder of her son, and another copes with the fact that the child that she gave birth to and nurtured has committed the most terrible crime imaginable.

Interwoven with the narrative of each mother, we are re-introduced to psychologist Connie Summers and police officer Lindsey Wade; who both appeared in Sam Carrington's previous novel. There's also a dark and sinister voice that appears every now and again; that of Tom, a gamer, and a guy who holds the answers to so many of the questions that these women ask.

One Little Lie is complex and multi-layered. The author's experience of working with the justice system is apparent throughout, her descriptions of the prison, the security staff and the inmate being interviewed is excellently done, and I was especially impressed by the moral conflicts explored in Connie's part of the story.

There's a reveal within the story that tips the whole thing on its head, and as a reader, I really liked this. Any pre-conceptions and conclusions that I'd drawn were quickly altered as this very clever author added yet another layer to her very clever plot.

A cleverly crafted and intelligent story that kept me guessing throughout. Sam Carrington's novel are alway a little different. Her characters, especially the females are well rounded, with flaws but real and human. A book to make the reader think, and recommended by me.



Sam Carrington lives in Devon with her husband and three children. 
She worked for the NHS for fifteen years, during which time she qualified as a nurse. 
Following the completion of a psychology degree she went to work for the prison service as an Offending Behaviour Programme Facilitator. 
Her experiences within this field inspired her writing. 
She left the service to spend time with her family and to follow her dream of being a novelist. SAVING SOPHIE, her debut psychological thriller, published in September 2016. 
It became a Kindle eBook bestseller, with the paperback hitting The Bookseller Heatseeker chart at #8. Sam was named an Amazon Rising Star of 2016. 
Her second psychological thriller, BAD SISTER, published in October 2017 in ebook and December in paperback. ONE LITTLE LIE followed in July 2018.





No comments:

Post a comment